Frequency Histogram for Monte Carlo Simulations

General discussion and questions about project risk management and risk analysis software RiskyProject. Includes discussion on how to perform efficient project risk analysis using our software.

Moderator: Intaver Support

Post Reply
Hato
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:34 am
Location: US
Contact:

Frequency Histogram for Monte Carlo Simulations

Post by Hato » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:22 am

When we do the Monte Carlo simulations we prefer to use the histograms as our key chart rather then just data tables. My chart right now has about 20 bars, I would like to bring this down to about 10 -12.
Project manager

Intaver Support
Posts: 832
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:55 am

Re: Frequency Histogram for Monte Carlo Simulations

Post by Intaver Support » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:33 am

You can modify any of the Monte Carlo simulation views. It includes frequency histograms for project and task duration, start and finish times, costs, work, etc. The number of bars in the histogram are a function of the number of pixels used to render the graph, so part of the setup will depend upon your monitors graphic display setup. You can vary the number of bars by right-clicking on a graph and clicking Options. The Chart Options dialog box opens. You modify the bar width by setting the number of pixels in the Bar Width box. Typically with a monitor set at 1980x1080, you will need to set it between 20-25 pixels to get around 10 bars.

Image

Please note that you can change any other parameters related to the look of frequency charts, cumulative probability plots, and combined chart. The settings are different for each type of data: ask duration, start and finish times, costs, work, etc.
Intaver Support Team
Intaver Institute Inc.
Home of Project Risk Management and Project Risk Analysis software RiskyProject
www.intaver.com

Post Reply